Manta alt


You must allow the browser to execute JavaScript programs if you want to view product information. If your browser is set up to execute JavaScript programs, the problem is that the product ID was incorrect. Use the menu bar above to find the desired product.



This course describes how to use the ILE source-level debugger to debug a program interactively. It shows how to set breakpoints (both unconditional and conditional), display the value of a data item, change the value of a data item, and step through a program one statement at a time. It covers all of the debugging functions provided by the debugger, both those implemented using debugging commands and those implemented using function keys.

Approximate Study Time: 2 hours


After completing this course, you should be able to:

  • Define and use the terms related to the ILE source-level debugger, such as debug mode, debug data, and debug view
  • Name and describe the different debug views that can be generated when creating a module
  • Start the ILE source-level debugger by placing your interactive job in debug mode
  • Set both unconditional and conditional breakpoints in a program
  • Display the current contents of a data item
  • Change the contents of a data item
  • Step through a program one statement at a time
  • Use a watch condition to stop program execution when the value of a data item is changed
  • Add programs to and remove programs from debug mode
  • Define and use abbreviations for a data item name, an expression, or a debug command while debugging a program

Topic Outline

Introduction to the ILE Source-Level Debugger

Sample Debugging Session

Using Breakpoints

Displaying and Changing Data Items

Stepping Through a Program

Additional Debugging Functions


This course is intended for anyone who will be developing ILE programs in the IBM i environment.


This course assumes you familiar with IBM i programming concepts and facilities. You can satisfy this prerequisite by successfully completing the courses in the following series: